Second Spitfire Scramble sees local pair take title as iconic plane flies overhead


THE SECOND running of the Spitfire Scramble was a topped off with a flypast by a Spitfire as the 24-hour race came to an end on Sunday.

Four hundred and fifty runners pitched up in Hornchurch Country Park to camp on Friday night with the race starting at midday Saturday.

Teams, pairs and solo runners set off on laps of the 5.9-mile course in a bid to run as many loops as possible in 24 hours.


The course, which takes in the tough ascent of Ingrebourne Hill, was conquered 20 times by solo winner Paul Corderoy. The 49-year-old from Wallingford, Oxfordshire ran an eye-watering 120 miles in total.

Kate Jayden, 29 from Saltney, Chester, claimed the female solo crown with 18 laps while the largest team category, the mixed teams of 6-8, was won by a team comprised of London Marathon staff, including race director Hugh Brasher, whose late father Chris founded the marathon in 1980.

Dacorum & Tring AC Road Runners took the honours in the male and female teams of 6-8 categories while the male teams of 3-5 were led home by Mon’s Crew.


Local clubs were also well represented with Havering 90 Joggers winning the female pairs category thanks to 16 laps from Nichola Fairbairn and Emma Tangye, while their two teams of 8 came 25th and 27th in the mixed 6-8 category.

Havering Tri finished 10th with 29 laps while Dagenham 88 Road Runners clocked up 28 for 13th place.

Founder and race director Danny Coyle said: “The event was a resounding success. We doubled in size from our inaugural race and it was thrilling to see the park showcased in this way. To have a Spitfire fly overhead as we welcomed our runners home was the icing on the cake.


“We owe thanks to the borough, the Forestry Commission, our charity partner the RAF Benevolent Fund and all our volunteers, especially those who stuck it out at their marshal points in the freezing cold night time hours. The runners hugely appreciated it and many of them are already clamouring to enter next year.”

If you would like to enter next year’s race, you can register your interest at